i got this recently. i think this was the best place to publicize it. but, if you want fresh breath, use a miswak.
Also, I think it's so interesting that there's a "®" and "TM" wherever law requires it.
"Dear [NAME WITHHELD],
Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products.
In answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products.
At present, the only exceptions are Wrigley's Spearmint® and Extra® Polar IceTM stick gums, Juicy Fruit® pellet gums and products produced by Amurol Confections, Wrigley's wholly-owned subsidiary, prior to June 1, 2003. The products formerly sold by Amurol, are now a part of the Wrigley family of brands.
Some batches of Wrigley's Spearmint® gum contain a very small amount of gelatin. Extra® Polar Ice gum contains tiny flavor beads encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We have requested the development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being worked on by our supplier. Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use shellac as a coating agent.
Hubba Bubba®, Bubble Tape®, Big League Chew®, Everest® and Dragon Fire® gum and Reed's® and Velamints® mints, formerly produced by Amurol Confections, became a part of the Wrigley product portfolio effective January 1, 2004. As of June 1, 2003 these products have been free of any animal based ingredients. While most products manufactured before this June date are no longer on shelves, some packages can still remain. The dating code for these products follow the format YMDDMY and reflects the manufacture date. If your diet restricts any animal based ingredients, please be sure to read the manufacture date, located on the back of the packaging, to ensure you are purchasing a package produced after June 1, 2003.
We hope this information has been helpful and thanks again for contacting the Wrigley Company.
WM. WRIGLEY JR. COMPANY
Consumer Affairs Representative"
Asalaam Aleikum Warahmatullah Wabarakatu,
Masha Allah sister. Reminds me of that hadith where a person comes with only one good deed and another needs exactly one good deed for the scales to go in his favor. So the man with only one deed asks Allah subhanna wa taala if he could give the other man his deed since one deeds isn't going to help him anyway. Then Allah says (paraphrashing): Do you think you can be more merciful than ME?' And he admitted both of them into paradise.
Again paraphrasing, but it's well known hadith so don't ask me for references.
Waslaam Aleikum Warahmatullah Wabarakatu
does not come have sugar alcohol or glycerol? does that make it halal?on June 14, 2005 2:55 PM